Tantalizing Tuesday


“Quit yer catterwailing.”

The man shifted the wriggling, thick burlap bag onto his shoulder and continued toward the rusted, dirty pick-up truck. Parked beneath a huge elm, any light that managed to reach the vehicle disappeared into a gathering mist.

“Dag-burned hell-cat.” With a grunt he heaved the sack into back of the truck and secured it down with a bungee cord before wiping his brow with a cloth from his back pocket. A low growl emitted from the bag.

“Growl all you want, kitty cat. You ain’t goin’ nowhere.” He trudged to driver’s door and slid into the truck, “At least, not tonight.”

Dark.

Smelly.

Danger.

T’Vok registered these singular thoughts as she struggled to stay in cat form. She’d become complacent about humans and had strayed into a well hidden net. How could she not have smelled their stench? K’Vor would never let her attend counsel and go through the rite now.

She had no doubt K’Vor would find her. He was the best tracker of their pride. That is if he even realized she hadn’t returned. They hadn’t parted on the best of terms, fighting about her desire to go through the ceremony this full moon and his orders that she wait until she passed through zafar.

Zafar wasn’t until the next new moon and T’Lar would already have gone through the ceremony. There’s no way she’d allow T’Lar to exceed her. In anything. Heat began to spread through her limbs.

Not now.

Not now.

Danger.

She couldn’t shift now. She’d be too vulnerable. Focusing all her thoughts to harnessing her body, she almost didn’t realize the truck had stopped moving.

Every Tuesday a group of authors gather and choose a photo that inspires them, then post a teaser that is 200 words in length. I hope you enjoyed my humble offering from the mixed up files that are my life.
Other Tantalizing Tuesday Authors

Naomi Shaw: http://naomisfantasies.wordpress.com
Molly Synthia: http://mollysynthia.com
Michael Jordan: http://www.pablomichaels.com/
Venus Cahill: http://venusbookluvr.blogspot.com
Cg Brumby: http://cgbrumby.blogspot.com.au/2012/07/cg-brumby-tantalizing-tuesday-teasers5.htm
Savannah Chase http://www.savannahchase.com/blog
Benjamin T Russell: http://incubuschronicles.blogspot.com/
Julez S Morbius: http://morbiussworld.blogspot.co.uk/
Don Abdul: http://don-abdul.blogspot.com/
Muffy Wilson: http://muffywilson.blogspot.com
Cyril J. Michael: http://authorcyriljmichaels.blogspot.com
Ray Sostre: http://theafterdarkworld.blogspot.com
Cassandre Dayne: http://cassandredayne.wordpress.com/
Veronica Fredricks: http://authorveronicafredricks.blogspot.com
Dianne Hartsock: http://diannehartsock.wordpress.com/tantalizing-tuesday-5/
Sherry M. Palmer: http://michellechatton.blogspot.com
Gemma Parkes: http://gemmaparkes.blogspot.com/

8 comments:

  1. This is the time for her to make a run for it. Ohh I loved the teaser. Want to read more.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Very dramatic teaser, loved it

    ReplyDelete
  3. Fantastic Teaser! I want more!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is wonderful post! I hope it's the start of a new novel!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great TTT! Love the world you've created here!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Good post, but why didn't she make a run for it?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Only allowed 200 words... I was already over, had to stop somewhere :)

      Delete